Models / OpenAI/ Whisper Large v3 Turbo

Whisper Large v3 Turbo

OpenAI · released Oct 1, 2024 · openai/whisper-large-v3-turbo

Speech to textTranscribes a recording into words

Input: audio. Output: text.InputOutput
Type
Open weightsMIT License
Languages
99
Size
0.8B

Context measured in tokens

Our take

Written Sep 11, 2026

Whisper Large v3 Turbo is a tiny, MIT-licensed speech-to-text model built for speed over accuracy. It transcribes audio in 99 languages at roughly 792 times real time, but sits below average on every English recording condition we track.

Who should pick it

Pick this when raw speed is the overriding concern, or when you need broad language coverage with a permissive licence on minimal hardware. Use it for clean, scripted audio where even a below-average model is good enough. Skip it if accuracy matters on meetings, accented speech, or podcasts, or if you need measured quality in any language other than English.

The case for it

  • Extremely fast: roughly 792 times real time on benchmark hardware, turning an hour of audio into text in about five seconds.
  • MIT licence with a 0.8-billion-parameter footprint, allowing fine-tuning, redistribution and commercial use.
  • 99 languages supported, including English, Chinese, German, Spanish, Russian, Korean, French and Japanese.

The case against it

  • Below-average accuracy on every measured English condition, with a 6.36% overall word error rate against a 5.1% median across 62 models.
  • Particularly weak on meeting-room audio: 13.88% word error rate, only 2.3 percentage points above the worst measured.
  • Struggles with accented speech and podcasts, trailing the median on both.
00

How good is it?

An open speech-to-text model for turning recordings into written text, though it trails most models on accuracy.

Less good at
  • turning spoken English into written textOpen ASR WER · 61st of 76
  • transcribing recordings of meetings in a roomRecorded meetings · 76th of 92
  • transcribing clear recordings of people reading aloudClean read speech · 79th of 92

TranscriptionTurning speech into text2.5 of 5Open ASR WER · 61st of 76

Words it gets right

93.6%

Misses roughly one word in 16, averaged over nine English test sets.

How fast it listens

797×37th of 74

an hour of audio in 5 seconds, on the board's own hardware. Your machine will differ.

Languages

99

Listed on the model card. The accuracy above is English only.

Where it struggles
Read aloudaudiobooks, clean recording2.1%79th of 92
Podcasts and videoeveryday internet audio8.5%55th of 92
Accented speechspeakers from many countries8.1%44th of 76
Meetingsa room, several people, far microphone13.9%76th of 92

Percentage of words wrong on each set, lower better. Bars are scaled to this model's own worst case; the placing beneath each rate is against every model measured on that set.

Which languages ↓

English · Chinese · German · Spanish · Russian · Korean · French · Japanese · Portuguese · Turkish · Polish · Catalan · Dutch · Arabic · Swedish · Italian · Indonesian · Hindi · Finnish · Vietnamese · Hebrew · Ukrainian · Greek · Malay · Czech · Romanian · Danish · Hungarian · Tamil · Norwegian · Thai · Urdu · Croatian · Bulgarian · Lithuanian · Latin · Māori · Malayalam · Welsh · Slovak · Telugu · Persian · Latvian · Bangla · Serbian · Azerbaijani · Slovenian · Kannada · Estonian · Macedonian · Breton · Basque · Icelandic · Armenian · Nepali · Mongolian · Bosnian · Kazakh · Albanian · Swahili · Galician · Marathi · Punjabi · Sinhala · Khmer · Shona · Yoruba · Somali · Afrikaans · Occitan · Georgian · Belarusian · Tajik · Sindhi · Gujarati · Amharic · Yiddish · Lao · Uzbek · Faroese · Haitian Creole · Pashto · Turkmen · Norwegian Nynorsk · Maltese · Sanskrit · Luxembourgish · Burmese · bo · Filipino · Malagasy · Assamese · Tatar · Hawaiian · Lingala · Hausa · ba · Javanese · Sundanese

The figures above come from the Open ASR Leaderboard, an independent public test that runs every model on the same recordings. It is the only measurement of transcription quality we know of, so there are no other scores to show.

Other boards it appears on
Podcasts and video 55th of 92Harder read speech 57th of 92Financial calls 58th of 92Recorded meetings 76th of 92Clean read speech 79th of 92European-accented speech 89th of 92Accented speech 44th of 76

Each of these is the same transcription job on a different kind of recording, so together they say where it holds up and where it slips — not how closely it follows an instruction.

Every published score for this model9 scoresEvery figure we hold, from 9 boards, with who ran it and a link to the source — including the boards no rating above is built on.
797source ↗
6.36source ↗
8.09source ↗
2.79source ↗
13.88source ↗
7.02source ↗
8.47source ↗
2.13source ↗
3.71source ↗
01

Can you run it yourself?

Comfortable fit

A card many people ownFits in memory

GeForce RTX 4090 · 24 GB

Weights at 0.5 / 24 GBest
Spare memory21.1 GB spare
Usable context262Kwhat the spare memory holds; no published limit on record

Room to spare. 21.1 GB spare means a 10% error in the size would not change the answer.

One step upFits in memory

Apple M1 Pro (16-core GPU) · 32 GB

Weights at 0.5 / 32 GBest
Spare memory22.3 GB spare
Usable context262Kwhat the spare memory holds; no published limit on record

Room to spare. 22.3 GB spare means a 10% error in the size would not change the answer.

On a MacFits in memory

Apple M2 (8-core GPU, 8GB unified) · 8 GB

Weights at 0.5 / 8 GBest
Spare memory4.3 GB spare
Usable context131Kwhat the spare memory holds; no published limit on record

Room to spare. 4.3 GB spare means a 10% error in the size would not change the answer.

These cards answer whether Whisper Large v3 Turbo loads, not how fast it transcribes. Throughput figures for a transcription model come from its text decoder, so treat this as a fit answer rather than a speed one.

Your hardware
Checking your profile…

Memory use by level

Against a 24 GB card.

What is quantisation? →
0.5 GBest
Fits in memory
0.6 GBest
Fits in memory
0.9 GBest
Fits in memory
This model on every device we track71 devicesThe Q4 build most people download, on each device: what the weights come to, how much context the memory leaves, and whether it runs. Smallest device that runs it first. This is a fit answer: whether it loads, not how fast it transcribes.
Android phone · 4 GB2 GB0.5 GBest16KFits in memory
iPhone 132.2 GB0.5 GBest16KFits in memory
iPhone SE (3rd gen)2.2 GB0.5 GBest16KFits in memory
Android phone · 6 GB3 GB0.5 GBest66KFits in memory
iPhone 143.3 GB0.5 GBest66KFits in memory
iPhone 153.3 GB0.5 GBest66KFits in memory
Android phone · 8 GB · 2023 or newer4 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
Android phone · 8 GB · 2020–20224 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
iPhone 174.4 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
iPhone 16 Pro4.4 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
iPhone 15 Pro4.4 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
iPhone 164.4 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
GeForce GTX 1660 SUPER6 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
Android phone · 12 GB · 2023 or newer6 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
iPhone 17 Pro6.6 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M2 (8-core GPU, 8GB unified)8 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 3060 8GB8 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 4060 8GB8 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Radeon RX 66008 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M1 (8-core GPU, 8GB unified)8 GB0.5 GBest131KFits in memory
Android phone · 16 GB · 2024 or newer8 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Arc B57010 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 3080 10GB10 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Arc B58012 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 3060 12GB12 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 4070 SUPER12 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 507012 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 4060 Ti 16GB16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 4070 Ti SUPER16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 4080 SUPER16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 5060 Ti 16GB16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 5070 Ti16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 508016 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Radeon RX 907016 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Radeon RX 9070 XT16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M1 (8-core GPU)16 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Radeon RX 7900 XT20 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M2 (10-core GPU)24 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M3 (10-core GPU)24 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 309024 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 3090 Ti24 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 409024 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Radeon RX 7900 XTX24 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M1 Pro (16-core GPU)32 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M2 Pro (19-core GPU)32 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M4 (10-core GPU)32 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M5 (10-core GPU)32 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
GeForce RTX 509032 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M3 Pro (18-core GPU)36 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
L40S48 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
RTX 6000 Ada48 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M1 Max (32-core GPU)64 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M4 Max (32-core GPU)64 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M4 Pro (20-core GPU)64 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M5 Max (32-core GPU)64 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M5 Pro (20-core GPU)64 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
A100 80GB SXM80 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
H100 80GB SXM80 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M2 Max (38-core GPU)96 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell96 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M1 Ultra (64-core GPU)128 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M3 Max (40-core GPU)128 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M4 Max (40-core GPU)128 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M5 Max (40-core GPU)128 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
NVIDIA DGX Spark (GB10)128 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Ryzen AI Max+ 395 (Radeon 8060S)128 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
H200 141GB SXM141 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M2 Ultra (76-core GPU)192 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
B200 (SXM 192GB)192 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Instinct MI300X192 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory
Apple M3 Ultra (80-core GPU)512 GB0.5 GBest262KFits in memory

Check against your own machine → · Where to rent it hosted →

02

Or rent it from someone else

Prices checked 2 hours ago — each listing carries its own date.

Cheapest published offer

Groq, direct

Cheapest of 2 live listings.

per minute of audio
$0.001
Context served
—
Throughput
Not measured
Current provider offers with price, context and prompt-privacy answers
ProviderPrice per minute of audioContextThroughputTrains on promptsLogs promptsZero retention
GroqDirect$0.001checked 2 hours agonot reportednot measuredUnknownUnknownUnknown
IBM watsonxDirect$0.006checked 2 hours agonot reportednot measuredUnknownUnknownUnknown

Across the 2 listings we hold: 0 say they do not train on prompts, 0 say they do and 2 do not say. 0 appear in the zero-retention registry we check; the rest are unknown to us.

03

When we formed this view

Recent changes

Sep 14, 2026BenchmarkScored 797 on Open ASR RTFx
What movedleaderboard
Sep 14, 2026BenchmarkScored 6.36 on Open ASR WER
What movedleaderboard
Sep 11, 2026BenchmarkScored 8.09 on Accented speech
What movedleaderboard
Sep 11, 2026BenchmarkScored 13.88 on Recorded meetings
What movedleaderboard
Sep 11, 2026BenchmarkScored 3.71 on Harder read speech
What movedleaderboard
Aug 2, 2026BenchmarkScored 2.79 on Financial calls
What movedleaderboard
Aug 2, 2026BenchmarkScored 7.02 on European-accented speech
What movedleaderboard
Aug 2, 2026BenchmarkScored 8.47 on Podcasts and video
What movedleaderboard
Aug 2, 2026BenchmarkScored 2.13 on Clean read speech
What movedleaderboard
Aug 1, 2026ListedListed on LLMap
What movedfirst indexed by our pipeline

Each date is the day we first saw the change, or the day the maker announced it.

What we do not know about this model yet

  • We hold no measured file for it, so all 3 sizes on this page are calculated from the parameter count.
  • 2 of 2 listings publish no parameter list, so what their API accepts is unknown to us.
  • Nothing we hold says whether an endpoint streams, so we do not show it either way.
  • 2 of 2 listings do not say whether they train on prompts.
  • We hold no cached-input rate for any of its listings.
  • We hold no batch or off-peak rate for any of its listings.
04

Licence and identifiers

What the licence allowsMIT License, what it allows commercially, and the identifiers you need to pull this model — its Hugging Face repo, our slug and a machine-readable card.

Licence

MIT License

Open, few conditionsCommercial use allowed

Fully permissive: do anything with attribution. No patent grant, unlike Apache-2.0.

Identifiers

Architecture
Dense
Takes in, gives back
Audio in, text out
Catalogue slug
openai-whisper-large-v3-turbo

Machine-readable model card (omc.json) →

Something wrong on this page? Tell us